Eleusis claims the record for the highest temperature ever recorded in Europe. In this sweltering heat, freshwater is truly a luxury and the Roman aqueduct serves as a testament to the unceasing efforts of emperors and locals to secure all the freshwater they need.
When Demeter left Eleusis for the last time, she entrusted her town and its people to a new patron saint, whose chapel is a precious ark that encapsulates the whole history of Eleusis.
The “Elaiourgiki” oil mill belongs to the second generation of industries that settled in Eleusis in the 1950s. Although the only building of this factory survives in poor condition, it remains an exciting testament to a time when Eleusis took its first brave steps towards industrialization.
The waterfront of Eleusis was once upon a time popular among locals and Athenians alike, who flocked here to enjoy the crystal clear water, the pristine sandy beach, and the fresh green mullet.
The news that came to the Ministry of Finance in August 1903 was dire. The Eleusinians watched helplessly as a unique ecosystem and a basic source of income for their families went up in smoke.
We do not know whether or how Eleusis honoured Aeschylus, her favourite son. The reconstitution of the community in 1914 enabled its residents to envision the erection of a statue dedicated to the great poet.
In the early 1880s, Lepsina (as Eleusis was known at the time) was an insignificant town on the edge of the Thriasian Plain. The establishment of industries brought significant wealth to Eleusis and enabled wealthy middle-class urbanites to set up home here. Obviously, the new residents demanded imposing residences, so within fifty years (1880-1930) the neighborhoods around the archaeological site were filled with neoclassical buildings to accommodate their needs.
Many years before the arrival of the first industrial chimneys, Eleusis depended on agriculture. The land was generally dry and arid but the pine-clad mountains that surround the Thriasian Plain contained great wealth in the form of pine resin. This substance supported an entire way of life that grew and died with the forests of Eleusis.
The arrival of the first train in Eleusis in late 1885 was a major event for the small community. The station became a favourite destination for the young people of Lepsina, while the railway station’s coffeehouse served the first souvlaki and Fix beer to the people of Eleusis.
The bloodshed during the labour protest of March 5, 1929, was a jolt to the state apparatus. While Eleusinians mourned the dead worker and fought for their rights with the ministers of the Venizelos government, Eleusis was practically occupied by strong gendarmerie detachments…
Eleusis was a prosperous town during the Roman period. It benefited greatly from the popularity of the Eleusinian Mysteries among the Romans, as well as the benevolence of Roman emperors.
The excavation of the sanctuary of Demeter transformed Eleusis into an international destination. As the archaeologists demolished the old houses of the settlement and removed the soil that covered the Telesterion
When the most conservative elements of the middle class go on strike, surely something is terribly wrong. On March 10, 1927, merchants and shopkeepers expressed their disagreement with a devastating policy introduced by the all-party government of Alexandros Zaimis
Every Sunday morning, the suburb of Tzitzifies was full of people. Hundreds of fishermen from all over Athens gathered here to buy bait and secure a seat in the boats or the buses that would transport them to paradise: the Saronic Gulf fishing grounds.
From the mid-1920, Eleusis began to change rapidly. The arrival of refugees from Asia Minor, the return of the enlisted men after the end of a decade of war, and the development of industry transformed the semi-rural town into a dynamic urban center full of life.